Skip to content

Drive from Egilsstaðir to Reyðarfjörður. Stop at the Wartime Museum to learn about the relations of soldiers and local residents during World War II. Opt whether to drive to Fáskrúðsfjörður through the tunnel or on the old, partly gravel road near Skrúður Island. Enjoy a meal at L’abri Restaurant in Fáskrúðsfjörður village, as well as the museum devoted to French fishermen and their heritage.

Coastal experience


The hub of the east, Egilsstaðir is the largest town in the region and it’s home to all the services a traveler might need. Across the bridge is the sister town of Fellabær, and together the population for the twin towns nudges 3000 inhabitants.   Transport connections are easy: Egilsstaðir airport has daily flights to and from Reykjavík, and buses connect to larger regional towns. Egilsstaðir makes a great hub for exploration – on its doorstep is Lagarfljót, a lake that may or may not be home to a monster, plus scenic hiking trails and roads to deliver you to neighboring fjords, forests, highland farms, waterfalls and wide open spaces. Just outside Fellabær is the newest addition to Iceland’s stellar collection of designer bathing spots, Vök Baths.   Egilsstaðir’s food scene is full of local flavor – you can sample farm-fresh produce and locally produced beer, and satisfy all budgets in restaurants that range from quick, easy pit-stops for road-trippers to upmarket dining rooms showcasing unique ingredients that haven’t traveled far to reach your plate.   There are places to tap into local culture, too, including the local museum with its focus on history and the introduction of reindeer to the region. Annual festivals celebrate an eclectic array of themes, including jazz music, winter darkness,and lake-dwelling beasts.    Highlights:  Walk: to Fardagafoss, a waterfall at the foot of Fjarðaheiði heath.   Taste: local reindeer, served in one of the fine restaurants. Vegetarians should look out for barley grown in the area.  Soak: with local kids at the town’s outdoor swimming pool, or in pools floating atop a lake at Vök Baths.  Road-trip: around the shores of Lagarfljót, to check out splendid Hengifoss waterfall, Skriðuklaustur monastery andSnæfellsstofa, a visitor center for the eastern area of Vatnajökull National Park.  
Lagarfljót and Lögurinn
Lagarfljót is one of Iceland's deepest lakes covering about 140 kms from its source in Eyjabakkajökull glacier to Héraðsflói bay. The innermost section forms the lake Lögurinn with a surface of 53 square kilometers and average depth of 51 m, reaching 112 m where it is deepest. Its deep mysterious glacial waters are home to Iceland's ancient and much older equivalent of the Loch Ness Monster; the terrifying sea-worm-like Wyrm or Lagarfljótsormur.  The oldest recorded sighting dates back to 1345. It was considered a bad omen if the curved forms of the monster were spotted above the water's edge. In recent years the Wyrm has mostly kept to itself but pay close attention as you never know when it may reveal itself again!
Egilsstaðir Swimming pool
 Swimming pool - opening hours Summer(June 1st – August 31st)Monday - Friday 6:30 – 21:30Saturday - Sunday 10:00 – 18:00 Winter(September 1st – May 31st)Monday - Friday 6:30 – 20:30Saturday - Sunday 10:00 – 18:00 Gym (Héraðsþrek) has the same opening hours as the swimming pool.
East Iceland Heritage Museum
The East Iceland Heritage Museum was founded in 1943 and since then its aims has been to preserve the history of East Iceland by collecting and preserving things that reflect the society, culture and everyday life of people in the area, from past to present day.  The museum has two permanent exhibitions, one about the reindeers in East Iceland and one about the old rural household in the region. The museum also has diverse temporary exhibitions through the year.  Reindeer in East IcelandThe East is the only part of Iceland where you will find wild reindeer. They contribute to the unique nature and are strongly connected to the region’s history and culture. The focus of the exhibition is on their nature, characteristics, and survival, as well as reindeer hunting and how reindeer products have contributed to a creative development of fashion design and handcraft.  The old rural household as a self-sufficient entityOn display are items from the historical, rural community in East-Iceland up until the mid-20th century. Some items relate to a practical role in everyday life, while others bear witness to the fact that life was not only about basic survival but also about creating beautiful things for decoration and pleasure. Among things on display is a living room (baðstofa) of an Icelandic turf house.  For more information, please visit
Selskógur the small forest on the eastern outskirts of Egilsstaðir, mainly consists of birch but also numerous rowans. Inviting woodchip trails of various lengths lure the wanderer to stroll through the peaceful surroundings.  A football field and a playground are among other recreational options in the area.
Fardagafoss Hiking Trail
Fardagafoss waterfall is close to Egilsstaðir, at the roots of Fjarðarheiði. It is one of three waterfalls in the Miðhúsaá river; the others are called Gufufoss and Folaldafoss. There is a marked hiking trail to the waterfall, and it is easy except for the last part, which is a bit difficult to cross. The hiking trail starts at a car park by road 93, close to Áningarsteinn rock.  Behind the waterfall is a cave. The story goes that an awful giantess one lived in the cave. It is believed that a tunnel runs through Fjarðarheiði to Gufufoss in Fjarðará in Seyðisfjörður. The giantess in Fardagafoss was famous for having a cauldron full of gold. When the giantess had become so old that she knew her death was imminent, she slid the kettle with the gold down into a deep pothole in the middle of Gufufoss, further down the Miðhúsaá river. The handle of the cauldron is said to be visable when there is little water in the river. Powered by Wikiloc
At over 30km long, Reyðarfjörður is the longest and widest of Iceland's Eastfjords. Norwegians once operated whaling stations along the fjord, and fishing was naturally a part of the area’s history. These days the Alcoa aluminum smelter is the main employer, making this the most industrial pocket of the east. But industry doesn’t mean a lack of beauty – in fact, you may recognize some of Reyðarfjörður’s dramatic natural features if you’ve seen the British TV series Fortitude, which was largely filmed here.   Another UK connection: During World War II, the Allied forces had a base at Reyðarfjörður. The remains of the base are visible, ranging from old barracks to small gun shelters. The Icelandic Wartime Museum does an excellent job explaining the period; it’s an interesting museum in a country that has never been at war.  The town has outdoor activities that appeal to locals and visitors. A walk to the waterfall in Búðará is recommended, as is the walk towards the town centre, along the 'Love Lane'. Fishing at the local pond (called Andapollur) is a relaxing pastime, and a hike to the sheltered area beneath the shrub-covered slopes of Grænafell peak is a must. An easy, marked hiking path leads onto the mountain from Fagradalur valley, and there is also a hiking path along the beautiful Geithúsaá river ravine. Large boulders in the shrubbery could be mistaken for elf dwellings but are in fact depositsleft by avalanches and landslides from the mountain.     Highlights:  Walk: Grænafell has served as the prime location for local outdoor activities for years. At the mountaintop there’s a lake, and a spectacular gorge carves the landscape beside the peak.   Taste: treats from the town’s popular bakery, or drop by Tærgesen for a meal inside a charming old building that served as a set location in Fortitude.   Road-trip: heading south and with a little extra time, you can opt for the longer scenic route (Route 955) instead of the convenient Route 1 tunnel towards Fáskrúðsfjörður.   
In a country that specializes in unspoiled and out-of-the-way places, Mjóifjörður might just take the title of ‘most remote’.   Its name translates as ‘Narrow Fjord’, and it’s an 18km-long inlet that is home to just one tiny village, Brekkuþorp. Today, only about 14 people live in Brekkuþorp year-round, and they are clearly people who relish some nature-induced solitude: the road into Mjóifjörður is breathtaking, but it’s open for only about four months of the year (depending on the weather). The rest of the year, Mjóifjörður is only accessible by scheduled boat from Norðfjörður.  The rugged road off Route 1 descends into the fjord and along the northern coast, giving you a road-trip through Mjóifjörður highlights, a collection of natural and historic sites that together tell quite a story. One of the best-known spots is the beautiful multi-tiered waterfall Klifbrekkufossar, which cascades down the mountainside. The ravine Prestagil (the Priest's Ravine) takes its name from a local folktale that tells of a huge troll woman who tried to seduce a priest into the ravine. The small inlet of Smjörvogur was once used as a prison as there was no way in or out of it without assistance. At Asknes you’ll see the remains of an old whaling station, the largest in the world at the time it was built by the Norwegians around 1900, with over 200 hundred workers. Keep driving as far east as you can go and you’ll reach Dalatangi lighthouses (an old one from 1895, and a ‘new’ from 1908), with magnificent panoramas in all directions.   In summer, when the road is open, there are simple services for travelers seeking tranquility, natural wonder, and endless hiking opportunities. Come prepared!    Highlights:  Walk: to find the best angle for a photo of Klifbrekkufossar. If you’re feeling energetic, take a day-long hike over the mountains to a neighboring fjord.  Taste: coffee and cake in the small guesthouse that opens in the summer in Brekkuþorp.  Road-trip: around the north shore of the fjord, as far as you can, to take in all the sights and end at Dalatangi. 
Klifbrekkufossar is a magnificent tier of waterfalls in Mjóifjörður. While descending the main road from Egilsstaðir the waterfalls can be spotted on the right-hand side.
The way out to Dalatanga lies along a narrow road that winds its way out Mjóifjörður. Drive along with landslides and cliffs, past waterfalls and gorges. When Dalatangi appears, it is as if you are on an island inland. It is not possible to drive further east in Iceland. At Dalatangaviti, there is a great view to the north, all the way to Glettingur and into Loðmundarfjörður and Seyðisfjörður. The two lighthouses on Dalatangi have a remarkable history. The older one was built on the initiative of the Norwegian fishing operator and entrepreneur Otto Wathne in 1895. It is made of basalt stone with stone glue in between. The younger lighthouse, which is now in use, was built in 1908. At Dalatangi, there is a beautiful farm. By the farm, there is an ornamental garden and a greenhouse.
Á Dalatanga eru tveir vitar. Þann eldri lét útgerðarmaðurinn Ottó Wathne byggja árið 1895. Hann kostaði sjálfur byggingu vitahússins sem er hlaðið úr blágrýti með steinlími á milli. Danska vitamálastofnunin lagði svo til ljóstæki, steinolíulampa og spegil til að magna ljósið. Að byggingu lokinni tók landssjóður rekstur vitans að sér. Yngri vitinn var reistur árið 1908 og er enn í notkun. Ekið er út á Dalatanga úr Mjóafirði. Þegar Dalatangi birtist er því líkast sem maður sé staddur á eyju inni í landi. Austar er ekki hægt að aka. Við Dalatangavita opnast mikið útsýni til norðurs allt að Glettingi og inn í mynni Loðmundarfjarðar og Seyðisfjarðar. Á Dalatanga er veðurathugunarstöð og hafa þar farið fram reglubundnar veðurmælingar frá árinu 1938. 
War Museum
At the Icelandic Wartime Museum, you can travel back to the days of the Second World War and the military occupation of Reyðarfjörður. The museum gives a vivid insight into life during the war in a country which has never had an army or been at war - with this one exception. The focus is on the impact of the occupation on the local population. On the first of July, there is a festival in memory of this unique event in Icelandic history.
Between Reyðarfjörður and Eskifjörður you can visit the Nature reserve Hólmanes. This is an ideal place to enjoy a good walk either down to the sea or up the hills. Birds and remarkable rock formations can be enjoyed in Hólmanes. With luck, you could stumble upon a herd of reindeers. Powered by Wikiloc
Fáskrúðsfjörður dishes up a Gallic surprise in the middle of the Eastfjords: a strong historical connection to France that today is showcased and celebrated. The village road signs are even in French!  The fjord’s town is called Búðir, but everyone calls it Fáskrúðsfjörður. It became a trading post in 1880, and from the latter part of the 19th century until 1935 it was the main hub for French fishermen working off Iceland’s east coast. The town is well known for its French heritage and has a strong connection to its counterpart in northern France, Gravelines (where most of the seafarers sailed from).  Just outside the town is a graveyard, the burial place of French (and Belgian) sailors. The town’s hub is the former French hospital, built in 1903. Today it is a beautifully restored hotel and restaurant, with an award-winning museum on-site that details the French seafaring life in East Iceland.   A tunnel connects Fáskrúðsfjörður and Reyðarfjörður, but the longer coastal route, along Road 955, delivers scenic views – look out for the legend-filled island of Skrúður, home to thousands of puffins and gannets in summer. The island is surrounded by high cliffs accessible only to the bold and the brave; it’s home to a sizeable cave that was occasionally used by sailors seeking shelter.    Highlights:  Walk: Feeling energetic? Climb Sandfell, a 743-meter rhyolite mountain on the southern side the fjord. With less ambition, it’s fun to stroll around town to see French connections in buildings, street names and monuments.   Taste: look for French influences in the menu of the Fosshotel restaurant, and dine with grand views over the fjord.  Road-trip: opt for the longer scenic route instead of the convenient Route 1 tunnel. Take Road 955 for sweeping views.  
French sailors in Iceland
The avant-garde exhibition in The French Museum in Fáskrúðsfjörður is the newest of Fjarðabyggð's museums and collections. This museum is located in two stately buildings, the Doctor's House and the French Hospital as they are called, built by the French fishermen around 1900. However, the main attraction of the exhibition is situated in a tunnel that connects the two buildings. The entrance to the museum is from the hotel reception area in the Doctor's House.  In the museum, the interesting history and legacy of the French sailors in Iceland is shown by means of the latest multimedia technology. The French sailors maintained a station at Fáskrúðsfjörður from the mid-19thcentury till the First World War, with the number of French sailing ships off Iceland peaking at between 200 and 300. However, the history of French cod fishing off Iceland goes back even further, all the way to the 17th century. During this long history, many ships never made it back to their home country. It is estimated that up to 400 of them were lost around Iceland, along with 4,000-5,000 seamen. Down by the French graveyard, a monument has been erected in honour of these heroes of the sea who were subjected to hard work, dampness and cold, not to mention accidents.   Their fishing operations were highly important for villages on the northern French coast; for example, in Dunkerque in the 1860s, approximately 6,000 people were employed in relation to fishing off Iceland. These operations were also significant for other villages, such as Paimpol and Gravelines. The renovation of the French heritage buildings, one of the largest historical restoration outside the capitol area, was finished in the summer of 2014. The five French buildings play a substantial role in local culture and society in Fáskrúðsfjörður. The French Hospital, for example, now serves as a hotel with the restaurant l'Abri on the ground floor. The Chapel is the only building that still maintains its original role and is open for guests of the museum. The museum is open daily from 10:00 to 18:00 (from May to end of August, or by agreement).
The Vattarnes peninsula is part of a beautiful coastline between Reyðarfjörður and Fáskrúðsfjörður. Vattarnesviti lighthouse is located on Vattarnes. It used to be part of the official way between those two towns, which are now connected by a tunnel. On a good day, choosing the longer way is well worth it.
Vattarnesiviti lighthouse is located on Vattarnes. There has been a lighthouse at Vattarnes since 1912 but the one standing today was built in 1957.  The Vattarnes peninsula is part of a beautiful coastline between Reyðarfjörður and Fáskrúðsfjörður. 
Skrúður is an island in Fáskrúðsfjörður. It is surrounded by high cliffs and is accessible only to the bold and brave. There is a sizable cave on the island, which sailors occasionally used as a shelter when making their way southwards. Legends say three giant brothers were living in Austurland. One made his home in Skrúður, the second in Streitishvarf, and the third on Papey. The Skrúður dweller abducted his wife from the on-shore vicarage of Kolfreyjustaður; she was the local priest´s young daughter. Legends relating to their insular existence lived among the sailors who visited the island.  
Sandfell is a distinctive 743m. high rhyolite mountain between Stöðvarfjörður and Fáskrúðsfjörður. The best approach is from the south side of Fáskrúðsfjörður. The trail leaves the coastal road between Víkurgerði and Vík farms and proceeds along the Víkurgerðisá River before cutting west for the peak. The scenery is excellent en route, with views of Fáskrúðsfjörður, Andey and Skrúður islands. Powered by Wikiloc
Stöðvarfjördur is the only Eastfjords town that the Ring Road travels directly through, and there are plenty of opportunities to stop and enjoy the unsung treasures of the location. The locals here sustain themselves with fishing, tourism and art, and as with many villages in the Icelandic countryside, there is a creativity that bubbles away – likely fueled, in part, by the spectacular surrounding nature.  As with most of the Eastfjords, mountains loom over the coastline. On the north side of Stöðvarfjördur is the towering peak Steðji and nearby Hellufjall. To the fjord’s south is the majestic mountain Súlur. The area’s geology is rich, and the best way to witness the astounding variety of stones and minerals found in East Iceland is to visit the dazzling stone collection amassed by local woman Petra Sveinsdóttir over her lifetime. Petra’s home and garden is now the setting for all sorts of wondrous treasures that will leave a lasting impression.  Natural forces in the area include waterfalls, rock formations, and Saxa, a unique sea geyser. Creative forces can be seen in the small art galleries and the souvenir-perfect arts and crafts created by locals, offered for sale in the summer market known as Salthússmarkaðurinn. The town’s old fish freezing factory has been reborn as a center for creativity, home to artist studios and residencies, workshops, and much more - even a recording studio. Come and be inspired.   Highlights:  Walk: Jafnadalur is a valley at the head of the fjord, and trails here to lead to a beautiful rock arch on the slope of Álftafell. On the way you’ll pass Einbúinn (The Hermit), a huge solitary rock in otherwise flat surroundings.  Taste: homemade cakes and soup from the café kiosk out front of Petra’s Stone Collection.  Soak: It may be small, but the town has a swimming pool (of course!).   Road-trip: As you head north out of town, stop to admire the coastal rock formation called Saxa (The Grinder). This is an impressive perforated cliff where the sea erupts into the air.
Hafnarnesviti lighthouse is not the biggest one but is well worth the hike to get there. There was a small settlement on Hafranes. At some point, 100 people lived there, but most moved away early 20th century, and by 1970, it was completely abandoned. In 1939, the French Hospital was exported to Hafnarnes, and it stood there for about 70 years. The extensive building now forms the core of the French house cluster in Fáskrúðsfjörður.
Just off the coast of farm Lönd in Stöðvarfjörður, there´s a singular rock formation called Saxa ("The Grinder). This is an impressive perforated cliff, penetrated ceaselessly by the swelling waves of the Atlantic, resulting in spectacular eruptive splashes which fling seaweed and algae, minced by the force of the ocean, high into the air.
Steinasafn Petru
Ljósbjörg Petra María Sveinsdóttir was interested in stones all her life and started to collect them in earnest in 1946. Most of her stones were found in Stöðvarfjörður and other places in East Iceland because Petra didn´t go much looking for stones in other parts of the country. In 1974, Petra decided to open her home for all those that wished to look at her stones.  Petra´s receives many visitors each year and it has become one of the most popular tourist destinations in East Iceland. It´s obvious to all those that visit Petra´s, that she was an efficient stone collector but not many people know that she collected more than stones.  Petra collected marked pens, cups, and numerous other small paraphernalia and for most of her life, she collected eggs, shells, and conches. For sure, Petra´s house has slowly acquired the appearance of a nature museum, but first and foremost, it´s a home. Open from June 1st to August 31st, seven days a week from 10:00 am to 7:00 pm. Kaffi Sunnó In the year 2015, an old dream came true when Kaffi Sunnó was opened. The guests can buy delicious soups and bread, hot and cold drinks and something sweet.
Tiny Breiðdalsvík is a relatively young fishing village with some surprises and plenty of small-town hospitality. It lies on the coast with great seascapes and black sand beaches, making fishing and boat tours popular from its old harbor.   Some of the loveliest scenery lies inland from the town, in the spectacular valley of Breiðdalur. This is the longest and widest of the valleys in East Iceland, and it’s surrounded by majestic mountains rising to over 1000 meters on both sides. The impressive Breiðdalsá river, well known for salmon fishing, winds its way scenically across the valley basin to the sea. Breiðdalur makes a wonderful place for exploration and activity, from hiking to horse-riding. There are waterfalls and small forests to discover, and colorful rhyolite peaks to admire. Local guides can help you explore hard-to-reach places and let you in on local secrets.   Back in Breiðdalsvík, take a step back in time inside the old general store, preserved with some quirky 1950s features, then head next door to the craft brewery (yes, even a town of around 140 people needs a brewery!). Be sure to check out the local heritage inside the old fish factory on the main street, which displays a fascinating old relief map of Iceland.     Highlights:  Walk: south of town is the Streitishvarf area, a peninsula, and cliffside location with marked trails, a lighthouse, and delightful views.   Taste: there’s great locally caught fish, and it pairs well with beer from the town’s craft brewery Beljandi, named after a beautiful local waterfall found in Breiðdalur.  Road-trip: as an alternative to Route 1 (the Ring Road), you can take Route 95 through Breiðdalur then continue as it climbs over Breiðdalsheiði, an ancient, eroded volcano. The views over the valley and coast are unforgettable. Route 95 ends in Egilsstaðir.  
In Breiðdalsá, close to the farm Brekkuborg in Breiðdalur valley, is the Beljandi waterfall. In fact, there are two waterfalls, Ytri Beljandi and Innri Beljandi, and eponymous pools. The waterfalls are not very high, but they are beautiful and well worth the short hike from the road through Breiðdalsvík. The whole area is extremely beautiful and suitable for outdoor activities. 
Aldamótaskógur at Tinna
In the summer 2000, a project was started in Iceland to celebrate the turn of the century and the 70th anniversary of Iceland Forestry Society. Five Millennium Forests (Aldamótaskógur) were planted in Iceland; one tree for each living Icelander.  The plants, representing the inhabitants of Austurland, where planted by Tinnudalsá river (Tinna), at Eydalir. A few decades before, some trees had been planted in that same area turning it into a great outdoor recreational area. A beautiful marked hiking trail runs through the forest, along Tinna. 
Heydalir (Eydalir)
There has been a vicarage at Heydalir since early Christianity in Iceland and several renowned vicars have served there through the ages. Among them was the vicar and hymn poet Einar Sigurðsson (17th century) whose poetry is still venerated among the nation. A pillar stone has been erected in his memory at Heydalir. The church that now stands in Heydalir was hallowed July 13th in 1975 and the old church was unchurched that same day. The old church was built in 1856 but it burned to the ground on June 17th, 1982. The name of the place is somewhat erratic; some people talk say Haydalir and Heydalir is mentioned in some of Iceland’s old Sagas. Others talk about Eydalir, especially older locals, and the vicar Einar Sigurðsson is associated with Eydalir. In the church´s record book, which has been in use since 1909, both names are used equally. Today the official name of this place is Heydalir. 
Meleyri is a charming shoreline near Breiðdalsvík. This is an outdoor area, a colorful birdlife arena and popular among locals and tourists alike. The locals use this area a lot, especially during winter because snow des not stick to the sand. 
Streitishvarf is a great outdoor area, suitable for the whole family. A beautiful, short hiking trail offers a brilliant insight to the geological history of Austurland, especially the dikes that are characteristic for the area. Although the hiking trail is short, it is a great place to stop for a few hours; to play and enjoy the nature.  A lighthouse was first built at Streitishvarf in 1922 and it operated until 1958, when it was removed due to the building of a new lighthouse in Breiðdalsvík. The Streitisviti lighthouse operating today was built in 1984.
A lighthouse was first built at Streitishvarf in 1922 and it operated until 1958, when it was removed due to the building of a new lighthouse in Breiðdalsvík. The Streitisviti lighthouse operating today was built in 1984.  Streitishvarf is a great outdoor area, suitable for the whole family. A beautiful, short hiking trail offers a brilliant insight to the geological history of Austurland, especially the dikes that are characteristic for the area. Although the hiking trail is short, it is a great place to stop for a few hours; to play and enjoy the nature. 
In the southern pocket of East Iceland, life moves at an unhurried pace. The scenic town of Djúpivogur is part of Cittaslow, ‘an international network of cities where living is good’. Towns that subscribe to the Cittaslow movement focus on the authenticity of products, good food based on the slow food philosophy, rich and fascinating local craft traditions, and the protection of the environment together with the joy of slow and quiet living on a daily basis.  A tranquil pace allows time for locals and visitors to stroll, explore, and breathe deeply. Come see the benefits, and check out the unexpected history and creativity on display. There’s a long history of trading since 1589, and the oldest house in Djúpivogur (called Langabúð, built in 1790) now serves as a cultural center. Local craftspeople have studios and quirky outdoor galleries, and don't miss the outdoor sculpture called Eggin í Gleðivík, by artist Sigurður Guðmundsson. The sculpture is of 34 oversized eggs arranged along the waterfront, and it celebrates another drawcard of the area: the rich birdlife. Shallow lagoons, coastal lakes and mudflats in the area are magnets for feathered friends, and the Búlandsnes sanctuary is renowned among bird-lovers. Offshore from Djúpivogur is the small, uninhabited island of Papey, a favorite for puffin-watching.   Dominating the landscape is the pyramid-shaped peak named Búlandstindur, reaching 1069 meters. According to legend, it can make wishes come true during the summer solstice; others believe it has supernatural powers. All year round, it fulfills the wishes of hikers looking for interesting trails.     Highlights:  Walk: among birdlife at Búlandsnes sanctuary, or with some care to the peak of mystical Búlandstindur.  Taste: homemade cakes at Langabúð, the oldest house in town. It’s now home to sculptures, a heritage museum, and a sweet coffeeshop.  Soak: with locals at the modern swimming pool.  Road-trip: follow the winding Ring Road in and out of town for some scenic natural highlights. Head north for Teigarhorn nature reserve and beautiful Berufjörður, or south to the black sands of rugged Stapavík beach.
Eggin í Gleðivík
The Eggs in Merry Bay are outdoor works that show 34 replicas of eggs of nesting birds that nest in the vicinity of Djúpivogur. There is a rich birdlife in the area and the eggs reflect the strong connection that Djúpivogur has with nature. Eggs in Gleðivík is a popular tourist destination and has become one of the landmarks of Djúpivogur.
Hálsaskógur is in Búlandsnes, a short distance west of Djúpivogur. The forest area is very nice and there are signs providing information about the forest, such as the tree species, as well as tables and benches. There are footpaths going through the planted forest which makes it particularly suitable for those who prefer light walks.
Black Sand Beach in Djúpivogur
Just outside the airport in Djúpavík are the Black Sands. It is a natural pearl complete with unique birdlife. The area offers a wide range of outdoor activities for the whole family and does especially well with bird enthusiasts.

All Travel Routes